When I select “Create new area”, the whole page clears, including the Area Name _and_ the Area List pull-down.
Entering text in the “Area Name” field after selecting “Create new area” (and after the page resets) just renames the last name in the list – the popup warns: You are about to modify the area (even though the “Area list” field is empty).
(I added a second area by editing zone.xml and restoring it so I think it is the last name in the list…It could just be the second. When I had only one area it was renaming the one exiting area.)
(And you’re going to get tired of hearing this from me, but impressive service! Working on weekends!)